Jeffrey C. Hall, Brandeis University, Waltham, USA: “The Little Flies: Multifaceted Basic Research Coming Out Better than Intended”

Michael Rosbash, Brandeis University, Waltham, USA, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA: “The circadian clock, transcriptional feedback and the regulation of gene expression”

Michael W. Young, Rockefeller University, New York, USA: “Time travels: A 40 year journey from Drosophila’s clock mutants to human circadian disorders”

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2017 was awarded to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young “for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm”.